Questions? AskAuckland

Graduation Breakfast 6 May 2015

06 May 2015

On May 6 2015 the School of Optometry & Vision Science at the University of Auckland held a breakfast celebration for the 2014 Bachelor of Optometry graduands.  Friends and family joined with staff in this celebration which was held at the University‚Äôs Fale Pasifika, City Campus.  The event included a short prizegiving to recognise those students who excelled.  Following the breakfast the Graduands participated in the main University graduation ceremony and associated activities.

Awards presented were:

New Zealand College of Optometrists Prize, awarded for the best project presentations (course OPTOM 570) and  presented by Mr Bob Kinnear (now retired) who was one of the founding members of the College.  The recipients were 1st equal : Emilie Langley & Grace Elliot and 3rd : Tian Yuan Qu.

Raymond Harry Hawkins Prize, awarded for the best project in OPTOM 570 and presented by Dr. Monica Acosta (OPTOM 570 Course Coordinator).  The recipient was Tian Yuan Qu.

First in Course Awards, presented by Associate Professor Rob Jacobs (Academic Director).  Recipients were OPTOM 510: Shona Taylor. OPTOM 520: Grace Elliot. OPTOM 560: Robyn Stirling and OPTOM 570: Tian Yuan Qu.

Senior Scholars in Optometry , presented by Professor Steven Dakin (Head, School of Optometry & Vision Science). Recipients were Shona Taylor, Grace Elliot and Sian Coldicutt

Anna Pritchard Prize for Optical Dispensing, awarded for excellence in optical dispensing and presented by Donald Crichton and Kristine Hammond (Dispensing Opticians, UoA Optometry Clinic).  Recipient was Sian Coldicutt.



Graduates, please use this link  to access more photos from the Optometry breakfast held on graduation day 6 May 2015.

If you would like a photo removed from the gallery, please email us at