Questions? AskAuckland
  

School of Optometry and Vision Science


People

Dr John Phillips

Dr John Phillips (Principal Investigator)
MCOptom, PhD
Senior Lecturer, School of Optometry and Vision Science

Phone: +64 9 923 6073
Email: j.phillips@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Human myopia; animal models of myopia and emmetropisation; refractive development of vertebrate and invertebrate (cephalopod) eyes; the sclera in myopia; methods for inhibiting the progression of myopia in children.

Dr Philip Turnbull

Dr Philip Turnbull (Postdoctoral Research Fellow)
BOptom (Hons), PhD
School of Optometry and Vision Science

Phone +64 9 923 5499
Email: p.turnbull@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: emmetropisation, myopia progression, cephalopod vision, virtual reality, eye-tracking.

Dr Nicola Anstice

Dr Nicola Anstice
BOptom (Hons), PhD
Senior Lecturer, School of Optometry and Vision Science

Phone: +64 9 923 2956
Email: n.anstice@auckland.ac.nz

Andrew Collins

Andrew Collins
BOptom, MSc (Hons)
Senior Tutor, PhD Candidate, School of Optometry and Vision Science

Phone: +64 9 923 6484
Email: a.collins@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Human myopia; animal models of myopia and emmetropisation; light and refractive development; human visual function and adaptation.

Samuel Chiang

Samuel Chiang
BOptom(Hons), CertOcPharm(TPA), MScOptom(Hons)
PhD Candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant, School of Optometry and Vision Science

Email: s.chiang@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Human myopia; Choroidal thickness changes induced by retinal image defocus

Safal Khanal

Safal Khanal

BOptom (Hons.), OD, FAAO

PhD candidate, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Email: s.khanal@auckland.ac.nz

Phone: +64 9 923 7869

Research interests: Human myopia, blood perfusion in the choroid, arterial spin labelling (ASL) MRI, retinal electrophysiology, ocular growth regulation and myopia control

 

 

Dr Martin Loertscher

Dr Martin Loertscher

Dipl. Augenoptiker, MSc, PhD

Email: m.loertscher@auckland.ac.nz

Research interests: Orthokeratology and myopia progression

 

Myopia-Lab Alumni