Questions? AskAuckland
  

School of Optometry and Vision Science


Postgraduate research topics

The following is a list of research topics offered at the doctorate (PhD), masters and honours level.

  1. » Honours
  2. » PhD

Honours


Research Topics Supervisor/s details
Age related nuclear cataract: the role of Nrf2 control in the lens

Dr Julie Lim
j.lim@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Paul Donaldson
p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz

Development of aids for colour deficient optometrists Dr Misha Vorobyev
m.vorobyev@auckland.ac.nz
Botox: as a tool for eye therapy? Dr Monica Acosta
m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Masters


Research Topics Supervisor/s details
TRP channel expression profiles in the lens 

Professor Paul Donaldson
p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Rosica Petrova
r.petrova@auckland.ac.nz

The CGAP KO mouse: a tool for understanding redox regulation in the lens

Dr Julie Lim
j.lim@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Paul Donaldson
p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz

Top

PhD


Research Topics Supervisor/s details
Are TRP channels functional active in the core of the lens 

Professor Paul Donaldson
p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz

Biological clocks in the eye: regulation of antioxidant homeostasis by circadian rhythms 

Dr Julie Lim
j.lim@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Paul Donaldson
p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz

Inter-tissue cross talk in the eye:exosome communication between the front and the back of the eye

Dr Julie Lim
j.lim@auckland.ac.nz

Investigation of physiological mechanisms that regulate normal eye growth Dr John Phillips
j.phillips@auckland.ac.nz
Investigation of methods for Inhibition of myopia progression in children Dr John Phillips
j.phillips@auckland.ac.nz
Colour deficiency and colour judgement Dr Misha Vorobyev
m.vorobyev@auckland.ac.nz
Vesicular transport in eye disesases Dr Monica Acosta
m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz
Neurochemistry of an animal model of retinal degeneration Dr Monica Acosta
m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz
Biological glass: The molecular and cellur determinations of the optical properties of the ocular lens

Dr Ehsan Vaghefi
e.vaghefi@auckland.ac.nz

Emmetropisation in invertebrate eyes Dr Phil Turnbull
p.turnbull@auckland.ac.nz
Visual function in virtual reality Dr Phil Turnbull
p.turnbull@auckland.ac.nz
Digital design of therapies to combat age related nuclear cataract Dr Ehsan Vaghefi
e.vaghefi@auckland.ac.nz
Top